Jumping on the Bullet Journal Train

I am a planner by nature. I thrive on knowing what, when, and how things are going to happen. I am perfectly content to spend countless hours planning out my days, weeks, and years, to make sure that they are as productive as the can be. I am a goal setter; an achiever; an executor of plans. Type A all the way, but you knew that by now, didn’t you?

Throughout the years I have tried many different planner systems. In high school, I started out with the simple daily planners that my school provided and I was immediately hooked. After high school, I stuck to the planners that I could find at Barnes and Noble or Walmart. Again, these were simple daily planners. They weren’t anything fancy, just enough to help me remember to tick everything off my to do list.

As I grew in my career, my planning needs started to change. I had more than just chores and homework to complete. By my early to mid-twenties I was focused on my career (teaching, of course) and my own personal projects. I struggled to find a planning system that worked for all my needs. The lack of a system that worked led me to YouTube where I stumbled on the planner community.

At first, I got caught up in the Erin Condren and Plum Paper Planner craze. I purchased a Plum Paper Planner in August 2015 and started decorating all my spare time away. Can you relate?

Anyway, I quickly realized that the Plum Paper Planner system, although super cute, did not work for my needs. Thus, the YouTube searching continued and I stumbled upon the Bullet Journal system.

So, here we are. My husband just bought me my first Moleskine squared notebook as a birthday gift and the bullet journaling (is that even a word?) has been in full swing ever since. It’s been a week and I can already tell that this system is going to work for my needs because of its inherent flexibility. My journal can be whatever I want/need it to be and this alone makes my inner type a planner nerd self smile.

Here are some of my very first bullet journal spreads. I’m going to keep it simple and focus on productivity over creating a beautifully decorated bullet journal (for the time being, at least).

img_4365

So far, the idea of having random lists sprinkled throughout my bullet journal does not appeal to me. However, these two lists were put on the pages just following the index. I think they will get a lot of use.

fullsizerender

This is my first attempt at a weekly spread. I have a lot of tasks to do that don’t necessarily need to be done on a certain day. We’ll see how this works. Also, I realize that I completely messed up the dates. I was so excited about getting my first weeks layout done that I wasn’t paying attention. If nothing else, the corrections will add character to my journal!

img_4366

I plan on using this monthly spread to track blog post ideas and to schedule blog posts.

 

Happy planning!

Leave a Reply

